This annual literary award is given for the best debut books
published in the previous year


Statement by the Board of the Belarusian PEN Center on the Persecution of Writer Uladzimir Arlou Writer Uladzimir Arlou punished for reading out a literary work

Jerzy Giedroyc Literary Award

Best Belarusian Prose 2012

What is PEN

Belarusian PEN Centre is a representative of PEN International. It is an association of writers which speaks in support of writers’ rights, takes part in the world literary process and promotes Belarussian culture.

PEN’s names

Past presidents of Belarusian PEN Centre were Ryhor Baradulin, Vasil Bykau, Lyavon Barshcheuski, Uladzimir Nyaklyayeu. The current president is Andrej Khadanovich. Uladzimir Arlou, Ales Razanau, Ales Bialiatski are among the members of Belarusian PEN Centre.

PEN’s activities

Belarusian PEN Centre is one of the founders of the Jerzy Giedroyc Literary Award, the Maksim Bahdanovich Debut Award, Ales Adamovich Award and Frantsishak Bahushevich Award. It organizes annual contests of young writers and supports Belarusian book publishing.